Australian Racing News & Editorials - Horse Racing News

Breaking News

Jumps regime to put spark in Shalmaneser

Jumps regime to put spark in Shalmaneser

Trainer Richard Litt hopes a tweaked training regime can inspire Shalmaneser to a confidence-boosting win in the Listed Christmas Cup at Randwick.

Caulfield run to decide Magic Millions bid

Caulfield run to decide Magic Millions bid

The Matt Cumani-trained Anthemoessa is racing at Caulfield to confirm a spot in the Magic Millions 2YO Classic at the Gold Coast.

Ardoyne Road out of Millions contention

Ardoyne Road out of Millions contention

Brilliant first-up winner Ardoyne Road will miss the Magic Millions 2YO Classic but a Golden Slipper campaign remains an option.

Interlocuter favoured to claim G2 Villiers

Interlocuter favoured to claim G2 Villiers

Godolphin import Interlocuter is poised to use his black-type debut in the Villiers Stakes at Randwick as a launching pad towards the Doncaster Mile.

Today's Horse Racing Form Guide

TODAY R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 R7 R8
Ballina (NSW) 6h 17m 6h 52m 7h 32m 8h 7m 8h 47m 9h 22m 10h 2m
Geelong (VIC) 5h 57m 6h 27m 6h 57m 7h 27m 7h 57m 8h 27m 8h 57m 9h 27m
Geraldton (WA) 8h 39m 9h 14m 9h 54m 10h 32m 11h 7m 11h 42m 12h 22m 12h 57m
Goulburn (NSW) 6h 37m 7h 17m 7h 52m 8h 32m 9h 7m 9h 47m 10h 22m
Hastings (NZ) 5h 34m 6h 9m 6h 44m 7h 24m 8h 1m 8h 37m 9h 12m 9h 43m
Mackay (QLD) 7h 39m 8h 17m 8h 54m 9h 32m 10h 9m 10h 44m 11h 18m

Today's Horse Racing
Form Guide

Today's Betting Tips

Ballina (NSW)
Geelong (VIC)
Geraldton (WA)
Goulburn (NSW)
Hastings (NZ)
Mackay (QLD)

Bookmaker Weekly Promotions

Bookmaker Amount Betting Promotion Claim


William Hill promotion


Sportsbet promotion


Bet365 Promotion


unibet promotions


Ladbrokes promotion


Neds promotion


Weekly betting description


TopBetta promotion

Feature Races

Melbourne Cup

There’s a special change that comes over Australia on the first Tuesday of every November when all eyes in the nation turn towards Flemington Racecourse for the running of the Melbourne Cup. Nothing else compares with it. Huge swathes of people who never watch a horse run, let alone consider betting on it, gather in groups around television sets to see if the Melbourne Cup tip they accepted will turn out to be the right one.

Golden Slipper

The Golden Slipper is by far the greatest event on Sydney’s horse racing calendar. The 1,200-metre sprint takes place at the picturesque Rosehill Gardens Racecourse and is the world’s richest race for two-year-olds. The $3.5 million prize purse makes it one of the most eagerly sought titles in Australian racing.

Cox Plate

The Cox Plate does not gain the same media attention in Australia as other great races such as the Melbourne Cup, which is a shame. The rest of the world certainly recognises its significance. It is the only race in the Southern Hemisphere that’s been given the honour of joining the prestigious World Series, while this year the Longines World’s Best Horse Race Awards in London named the Cox Plate the best turf horse race in the world (a title it shares with the QIPCO Irish Champion Stakes).

Caulfield Cup

In terms of prominence, the Caulfield Cup comes in just behind the Melbourne Cup, taking the title as Australia’s second-most prestigious horse race. It’s something of a curtain-raiser for the Spring Racing Carnival, occurring in October as a signal for everybody with a passion for horse racing to shift their focus to Melbourne and not look away again until the winners of both cups have been decided. Eleven champion horses have managed to take home the Caulfield Cup and the Melbourne Cup in the same year.